Whanganui Rural Community Board

The Whanganui Rural Community Board represents and advocates for our rural community.

The Board is a body established by statute. It carries out functions and exercises those powers delegated to it by Whanganui District Council.

Board members


Grant Skilton - Chair
Email: grant.skilton@whanganui.govt.nz
027 245 8067


Bill Ashworth
Email: bill.ashworth@whanganui.govt.nz 
027 216 1689


Michael Dick
Email: michael.dick@whanganui.govt.nz
027 446 2177

Alistair Duff
Email: alistair.duff@whanganui.govt.nz
022 084 4020


Peter Oskam
Email: peter.oskam@whanganui.govt.nz
027 285 8603

Peter was born in Dunedin/Ōtepoti and was raised and educated in Whanganui.

After working in numerous occupations here and overseas, Peter returned to Whanganui to take up farming, experimenting in sheep and beef, deer, goats and kiwifruit on the Whanganui River. He eventually developed a forestry block and dairy heifer grazing/bull leasing enterprise.

At the same time, Peter has managed a plastics manufacturing company and has been the operations manager of a die-casting manufacturer. Recently Peter and his wife Louise owned an aluminium windows and doors company. Currently the couple are helping
to develop a mountain bike park with their son.

Peter and his wife Louise have been married for 33 years and have raised three children. Peter was asked to run for the rural community board and is attending as many council meetings and workshops as possible to assess how things work so he can not only apply his skills and talents but also understand the issues and then apply what he feels is needed, so he can add the most value to the organisation.

Peter is values driven and community focused.

David Wells

David Wells (Deputy Chair)
Email: david.wells@whanganui.govt.nz
027 289 5112


Appointed Councillors

Cr Charlie Anderson: charlie.anderson@whanganui.govt.nz
Cr Brent Crossan: brent.crossan@whanganui.govt.nz