Nominations time for Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame


26/08/2019 10:00:00 a.m.

26 August 2019

This year’s nominations for the Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame close at 5.00pm on Friday, 20 September 2019. The Sports Hall of Fame recognises significant sporting achievements and contributions to Whanganui’s sporting heritage.

An online nomination form is available at: 

For more information please email Nicky Malipaard, Sport Whanganui, at: or call her on (06) 349 2880 or 021 246 6184.

Whanganui Mayor Hamish McDouall was appointed to the selection panel for the Whanganui Sports Hall of Fame at a Whanganui District Council meeting on Tuesday, 13 August 2019, following the passing of former panel chair, Sue Westwood.

Mayor McDouall will join Ron Palenski (New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame chief executive), John Phillips (sports journalist), Mark Stoneman (multisport event organiser), Ken Mair (Whanganui iwi representative), Sue Haden (Whanganui sports representative – badminton, swimming and tennis) and Keith Smith (Hall of Fame panel chair) to select the 2019 inductees.

Page reviewed: 26 Aug 2019 10:00am