Welcome to our newest citizens


13/12/2018 11:00:00 a.m.

13 December 2018

The largest citizenship ceremony in a long while was held in Heritage House on Thursday, 29 November 2018.

The ceremony was officiated by Mayor Hamish McDouall and Council Chief Executive Kym Fell who formally recognised 43 new citizens.

Kaumatua John Maihi and Ngāwai Matthews welcomed guests with a karakia and waiata.

New citizens received a locally-crafted glass pendant and a copy of a booked called ‘Choice – the New Zealand citizenship story’ from the Department of Internal Affairs which acknowledges the commitment new citizens make to New Zealand.

Mayor Hamish McDouall told the diverse group they were a snapshot of “what the Whanganui community looks like” and he said he knew several people in the group personally.

“This group comprises of heath care workers, young families, sisters from St Dominic's College, police and many others who contribute to our community.

“People who have relatively recently made New Zealand their home are here this afternoon, as well as those who have been here for more than thirty years and are ready to formally become New Zealanders. This doesn’t mean you are leaving traditions of your birthplace behind, but contributing to your new community,” said Mayor McDouall. 

In 2018, 135 people became New Zealand citizens at Whanganui District Council ceremonies. The total number of new citizens across New Zealand this year was 29,916.

For information about NZ citizenship please visit www.govt.nz/citizenship

Our newest citizens: Mr Ian James Bowns (British), Mrs Lynda Kathryn Foster (Fijian), Mr Francis Ronal Foster, Miss Meagan Kathryn Foster (Fijian), Miss Jessica Suzanne Foster (Fijian), Miss Mikaela Teresa Foster (Fijian), Dr Jean Hermann Frieslaar (South African), Miss Yujin Koh (Korean), Ms Ravnita Kumari (Fijian), Mr Pajiv Caramba Lagahid (Filipino), Mrs Aylett May Pogay Lagahid (Filipino), Miss Mayumi Lagahid (Filipino), Miss Mualeoa Revival Leo (Samoan), Mrs Monisha Libin (Indian), Mrs Kalesi Durua Malanicagi (Fijian), Sr Katherine Mallory Martin (American), Sr Lucia De Erausquin (Argentinian), Mr Apenisa Kuruiwaca Mataiciwa (Fijian), Mrs Merenia Korotuku (Fijian), Mr Jona Vakanabu Mataiciwa (Fijian), Miss Matelita Senileba Mataiciwa (Fijian), Mrs Rosalie Joy Matthews (Australian), Mr Ercan Ocak (Turkish), Ms Hira Emel Ocak (Turkish), Mr Ahmed Yusuf Ocak (Turkish), Mrs Maureen Patricia October (South African), Mr Adonis Demoral Rancho (Filipino), Mrs Shenay Louise Rattray (South African), Mr Victor Rodan (Fijian),  Mr Tafu Tafu Sione (Samoan), Mrs Sugaluapea Eseta Iakina-Tafu (Samoan), Miss Tasharvon Martha Tafu (Samoan), Mrs Huyen Thi Tran (Vietnamese), Mr Colin James Wright (British/Singaporean), Mrs Caroline Margaret Wright (British), Mrs Eleanore Catherine Barry (British), Mr Steven Roy Ellis (British), Mrs Susan May Ellis (British), Mr Kimmo Eino Kristian Ruokonummi (Finnish), Mr Saxon Ferdie Toomer (British), Mr Dean Steven Wilson (British), Mrs Amanda Jane Wilson (British) and Mr Joseph Daniel Wilson (British).

Page reviewed: 13 Dec 2018 11:00am