Height t Wall Community Board - April / May 2023

Nominations open for Kai Iwi subdivision by-election

Nominations are open for a by-election to fill an extraordinary vacancy for a Kai lwi subdivision representative on the Whanganui Rural Community Board following board member Sandra Falkner's resignation.

Board members acknowledged Sandra's resignation with regret at a board meeting on 4 April 2023 – this resignation has triggered the by-election process. Board chair, David Wells, says, "Sandra has been a member of the board since 2017. She has made a significant contribution of time and effort to the rural community, and we really enjoyed working with her."

Electoral officer, Warwick Lampp, says, "Nominations must be made on the official nomination form, which is available on Whanganui District Council's website or by request from Whanganui District Council at 101 Guyton Street, Whanganui. You may also request a nomination form and a by-election information sheet from Anna Palamountain, our deputy electoral officer."

Alternatively, you can contact Warwick Lampp by email at: **iro@electionz.com** or by calling **0800 666 048**. Relevant candidate information can also be found in the 2022 local government elections candidate handbook which is available at: **www.votewhanganui.nz**

Completed nomination documents must be delivered to and be received by the deputy electoral officer at Whanganui District Council, 101 Guyton Street, Whanganui, no later than **12 noon on Thursday, 11 May 2023.**



Rural Community Board Kaitoke subdivision representative Judd Bailey took part in a recent Castlecliff Beach clean-up in support of Seaweek - keep a look out for board members in hi-vis gear at upcoming community events near you!

Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 including GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or online banking (see nomination form for bank account details). Please note – if there is only one nomination for the vacancy, the person will be elected unopposed. If there is more than one nomination, a voting process will be required to fill the vacancy. In this case, voting papers will be mailed out to electors on Thursday, 15 June 2023 and voting will close at 12 noon on Friday, 7 July 2023.

For a nomination form, a by-election information sheet and other by-election details, please visit:

www.whanganui.govt.nz/community-board-by-election-2023 or email: anna.palamountain@whanganui.govt.nz

YOUR REPRESENTATIVES

The Whanganui Rural Community Board is elected by the district's rural community to represent and advocate for local rural issues.



David Wells – board chair david.wells@whanganui.govt.nz 027 289 5112 Whanganui subdivision



Grant Skilton – deputy chair grant.skilton@whanganui.govt.nz 027 245 8067 Kai lwi subdivision



Bill Ashworth bill.ashworth@whanganui.govt.nz 06 342 7704 Kaitoke subdivision

Judd Bailey

julian.bailey@whanganui.govt.nz 027 405 8141 Kaitoke subdivision

Michael Dick michael.dick@

michael.dick@whanganui.govt.nz 06 342 9922 Kai Iwi subdivision

Jenny Tamakehu jenny.tamakehu@whanganui.govt.nz Whanganui subdivision

VACANCY Kai Iwi subdivision

- Watch livestreamed Whanganui Rural Community Board meetings at: facebook.com/whanganuidistrictcouncil
- Find meeting times and agendas at: www.whanganui.govt.nz/agendas
- View replays of livestreamed meetings by visiting: www.whanganui.govt.nz/live-council-meetings