

Further notice of by-election 2023 – Whanganui Rural Community Board

11 May 2023

The nomination period to fill the extraordinary vacancy for a Kai Iwi subdivision representative on the Whanganui Rural Community Board has now closed. Nominations have been received from Brian DOUGHTY, Quentin HANDLEY and Robert (Bob) WALKER (Independent).

As the number of nominations received exceeds the number of vacancies, a voting process is required and will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Voting will open on Thursday, 15 June and close at 12 noon on Friday, 7 July 2023.

Enrolment and Special Voting Arrangements

Residential electors within the Kai Iwi subdivision of the Whanganui Rural Community Board who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this by-election can enrol or amend their enrolment details on the electoral roll on or before Thursday, 6 July 2023:

- Online at www.vote.nz
- By texting your name and address to **3676** to get a form sent to you
- By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
- By email request to <u>enquiries@elections.govt.nz</u>

Ratepayers within the Kai Iwi subdivision of the Whanganui Rural Community Board who live outside the Kai Iwi subdivision area and who are not listed on the final electoral roll for this by-election can enrol on or before 5.00pm, Thursday, 6 July 2023 by completing and returning a ratepayer enrolment form, available from the Whanganui District Council office, or <u>online</u> or by <u>downloading</u> <u>this form(PDF, 199KB)</u>.

Special voting facilities for the by-election will be available at the Whanganui District Council Office, 101 Guyton Street, Whanganui during normal office hours between Thursday, 15 June and 12 noon on Friday, 7 July 2023.

Anna Palamountain Deputy Electoral Officer Call: (06) 349 0001 elections@whanganui.govt.nz

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140 Call: <u>0800 666 048</u> iro@electionz.com