

Notice of 2019 Triennial Local Authority Elections

July 2019

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday, 12 October 2019.

Whanganui District Council

(FPP - First Past the Post Electoral system)

- Election of one (1) Mayor for the Whanganui District
- Election of twelve (12) members for the Whanganui District
- Election of seven (7) members for the Whanganui Rural Community Board:
 - Community Board members will be elected by the electors of the subdivisions of the community as follows:
 - Kai-lwi subdivision election of three (3) members
 - Kaitoke subdivision election of two (2) members
 - Whanganui subdivision election of two (2) members

Candidate names will be listed in random order for the voting document.

In addition to the above elections a Poll on the Electoral system to be used for the 2022 and 2025 triennial elections will be conducted alongside Election 2019. The poll will ask if you want to vote for First Past the Post (FPP) or Single Transferable Vote (STV). The result of the poll will be binding on Whanganui District Council.

A further poll on representation will be conducted alongside Election 2019. The poll will be non-binding and will ask you how you want to elect candidates – by ward or for the district as a whole, and how many councillors you think we should have.

Whanganui District Health Board

(STV - Single Transferable Vote Electoral system)

Election of seven (7) members at large by the residents within the Whanganui DHB area

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order for the voting document.

Noeline Moosman Electoral Officer Whanganui District Council Whanganui District Health Board noeline.moosman@whanganui.govt.nz www.whanganui.govt.nz www.wdhb.org.nz

Manawatū-Whanganui Regional Council Trading as Horizons Regional Council (FPP - First Past the Post Electoral system)

- Election of two members for the Horowhenua Constituency
- Election of two members for the Manawatū-Rangitikei Constituency
- Election of four members for the Palmerston North Constituency
- Election of one member for the Ruapehu Constituency
- Election of one member for the Tararua Constituency
- Election of two members for the Whanganui Constituency

Candidate names will be listed in random order for the voting documents.

Craig Grant
Electoral Officer
Horizons Regional Council
Private Bag 11025
Manawatu Mail Centre, Palmerston North 4442
craig.grant@horizons.govt.nz
0508 800 800
www.horizons.govt.nz

Nominations

Nominations for the above positions open on **Friday, 19 July 2019**, and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position. Nomination papers and the candidate information handbook can be found either on the relevant council's website or can be obtained from the Council office. Completed nomination documents must be received by the relevant Electoral Officer no later than **12 noon on Friday, 16 August 2019**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by credit card (fees apply) eftpos, on-line banking, cash, or cheque (see candidate handbook for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook which is available with the nomination papers.

Whanganui District Health Board candidates must also submit a Conflict of Interest Statement with their nominations. Requirements for the Conflict of Interest Statement are included in the candidate handbook for the Whanganui DHB.

The rules for lodgement of nomination documents (nomination paper, candidate profile, photo, deposit and Conflict of Interest Statement [for DHB candidates only]) have now changed. All

documents must now be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the candidate handbook for further details.

Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from **Friday, 19 July 2019, to Friday, 16 August 2019**:

- Whanganui District Council office, 101 Guyton Street, Whanganui
- Whanganui District Library, Pukenamu Queen's Park, Whanganui
- Gonville Café Library, 44-46 Abbot St, Gonville, Whanganui
- Rangitikei District Council, High Street, Marton
- Ruapehu District Council, Huia Street, Taumarunui
- Whanganui District Health Board, Reception, Main entrance, Heads Road, Whanganui
- Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5.00pm on Friday, 16 August 2019.

Persons may enrol or amend their enrolment details by:

- completing an enrolment form available at Post Shops, Public Libraries or the Whanganui District Council office
- calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
- visiting the Elections Website https://vote.nz/

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-residential form available from the Whanganui District Council office, and must be returned to the Electoral Officer before 5.00pm on Friday, 16 August 2019.