Whanganui Rural Community Board By-election - Whanganui subdivision

Whanganui Rural Community Board logo

A by-election for the Whanganui Rural Community Board will be held by postal vote on Tuesday, 18 February 2020.

The by-election will be held to elect one member to the board’s Whanganui subdivision.

In the October 2019 Local Election, David Wells – as the only nomination – was elected unopposed to the Whanganui subdivision, which has two members.

A by-election is being held to fill the vacant seat.

By-election nominations open on Monday, 25 November 2019 and close at 12 noon on Monday, 23 December 2019.

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting document.


Nominations open on Monday, 25 November 2019 and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper, available from the Electoral Officer.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Monday, 23 December 2019. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash, or online banking.

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors.

The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook that is available with the nomination papers.

Electoral rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Monday, 25 November, to Monday, 23 December 2019:

  • Whanganui District Council office, 101 Guyton Street, Whanganui
  • Whanganui District Library, Pukenamu Queen’s Park, Whanganui

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 12 noon on Monday, 23 December 2019.

Persons may enrol or amend their enrolment details by:

  • completing an enrolment form available at Post Shops, public libraries or the Whanganui District Council office at 101 Guyton Street
  • calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
  • visiting the Elections website (www.elections.org.nz)

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-residential form available from Council Customer Services at 101 Guyton Street and must be returned to the Electoral Officer before 12 noon on Monday, 23 December 2019.

Noeline Moosman, Electoral Officer
Whanganui District Council

Vote 2019 logo