Three Waters Reform

Three waters texture

In July 2020, the government launched a programme to reform the delivery of our ‘three waters’ – drinking water, stormwater and wastewater.

There is a need to improve water quality throughout New Zealand and many local authorities will have to make significant investments in infrastructure to be able to meet these standards.

Today, on behalf of their communities, 67 different councils own and operate the majority of the drinking water, wastewater and stormwater services across the country.

While Whanganui is in a good position at the moment, some councils in New Zealand have struggled to deliver safe and sustainable water services.

In October 2021 the government announced it would proceed with creating four new publicly-owned, multi-regional entities to deliver these services, rather than councils.

The following documents were released by the government in relation to its decision: