Whanganui District

​​_MB34157-Edit (1).jpg

Whanganui District  is situated on the south-western coast of the North Island and is centred on the Whanganui River, with Whanganui city at the river mouth. With its south-western boundary consisting of Tasman Sea coastline, the district has four territorial ​authority neighbours: Ruapehu District to the north, Rangitikei District to the east, and South Taranaki and Stratford Districts to the west. 

Our community profile is available here.

You can find out more about our district at Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand.


Our lifestyle - affordable housing, tight-knit communities, rural and urban living options, lack of traffic congestion, an abundance of outdoor activities, large student population, excellent education, centrally located, within easy reach of Wellington, New Plymouth, Palmerston North and Napier - there's no need to elaborate - our easygoing way of life speaks for itself.

Our heritage - study the architecture of our beautiful historic buildings preserved from the early days of European settlement, take five in our parks and gardens, or discover our arts and culture scene at the Sarjeant Gallery or local museum. Whatever tickles your fancy, you'll find Whanganui is rich in both Maori and European history and culture.

Our education - our reputation for providing the best education in the country is aided by our outstanding facilities, and our endless variety of creative activities and events.

Our surroundings - from the iconic river that flows from the majestic mountains to the tempestuous Tasman Sea, to our climate, beaches, mountains on the horizon, new river walkway/cycleway, antique shops and gorgeous architecture, our unique surroundings ensure the outdoors play a big role in our lifestyle.

Map of district boundaries 

Page reviewed: 17 Oct 2016 11:30am