​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Local Body Elections were held on 8 October 2016.​​

View the election results →​​​​

View all c​​​andidate​ profiles →​​

General voting information

To vote in a local authorit​​​y electio​​​n you must b​​e:

  • 18 years of age or over
  • Enrolled as a parliamentary elector at the address where you live; or
  • Enrolled as a ratepayer elector for a property you own in a different district or city from where you live.

The Whanganui District Electoral Officer is responsible for the Whanganui District Council and Whanganui District Health Board elections.​

Voting systems ​​​explained 

The First Past the Post (FPP) voting system is used to elect the Mayor, Whanganui District Council members, Wanganui Rural Community Board Whanganui subdivision members and Horizons Regional Council members. 

The Whanganui District Health Board election uses the single transferable vote (STV) system, where voters rank the candidates in the order they would like to see them elected. For more information on the STV system, please visit www.stv.govt.nz.

Page reviewed: 25 May 2017 1:15pm